30 Days of SF- Dec 8th

Since I’ve been spending a little bit of time exploring the Presideo, I decided to visit my friend Priyanka at the Disney Museum since I had never been there before. She’s always telling me about how Walt was such a cool guy, and I’ve always been raised hearing all the conspiracy theories about him wanting to start a cult and all that nonsense, but I had never gotten a chance to really learn about him as a person. Apparently he accomplished quite a bit.

IMG_7243
The Walt Disney Museum 

Like everyone my age, I was raised by Disney movies during the time that the 2D animated world was really hitting a good stride before it had the carpet pulled out from under it by 3D technology. My movies were Aladdin, Lion King, Hercules, and Atlantis (which I had more appreciation for when I was older and followed Mike Mignola and Joss Whedon’s careers). The museum didn’t cover any of those movies unfortunately, but they did cover Jungle Book and a few other ones that were a little before my time, but still appreciated. However, seeing how the original Micky Mouse was made of nightmares was interesting.

IMG_7229
The evolution of Mickey Mouse

If you’re reading my blog, I imagine you’re in the know about Disney’s World War 2 campaigns already.

IMG_7232
You get them dirty Nazis!

The museum is actually very comprehensive and a whole lot bigger than I had ever imagined. There’s models of the original Disneyland, animatronics, and something like three stories of info and very well presented historical accounts of Walt’s life.

IMG_7235
The War Room
IMG_7233
Some old-timey cameras
IMG_7237
That castle thing
IMG_7230
This is how color is done

The drawing that I did today was for Christmas, and it’s a creepy Santa.

IMG_7267
creepy old Santa

 

Leave a Reply

